Cancer Lesson #30: A Box of Love

Cancer Lesson #30: A Box of Love

BoxofLoveRotated

Cancer Lesson #30: Everyone should have a box of love.

I have one.

My daughter made it when I was in the hospital and filled it with treasure. She saved every card, printed every email and Facebook message that my friends sent while I was recovering, and put them in my box.

The photo above doesn’t do it justice.  (And, on a side note, when I first published this lesson, the photo was backwards – a reminder that narcotics and technology don’t mix, in case you thought otherwise.)

Some  may wonder if getting cards and notes actually helps.

It does.  That picture also can’t convey the warm feeling that envelops me when I look at my box.

You could probably use a box of love.

It’s a nice thing to have when times get rough. Like oh, say, when you’re going through treatment for cancer.

I know what you’re thinking: “Kym used to be so normal, but I think those chemo drugs affected her brain.”

Hear me out before you tune me out. All I’m saying is, if you make the effort to live a decent life – and some people don’t – then you deserve a box of love.

Your box will remind you that what you do matters.

You matter.

The next time you get a thank you note for something you did, save it for your box. Special letters from your kids, photos that bring back exceptionally good times, compliments that mean something – they should all go in.

But here’s the most important quality of a box of love: You don’t have to have cancer to deserve one, you only have to have the love.

Leave a Reply

