Cancer Lesson #54: Each Treatment Affects You Differently.

Cancer Lesson #54: Each treatment affects you differently. You may sail through your first chemo sessions with few side effects. Don’t assume this will always be the case, or you could be setting  yourself up for an unpleasant surprise.

I had a variety of side effects, most of them fairly minor.

One treatment left me feeling like an elephant had taken up residence on my chest. A prescription for Nexium took care of the problem.

Another time, I was struck by fever and chills. I somehow convinced myself my temperature was lower than the number at which I was supposed to call my oncologist.

It wasn’t, but by the time I reviewed my instructions, the fever was gone.

I got used to becoming overwhelmed with sudden exhaustion when I pushed myself too far.

Like when I decided to bicycle six miles in the summer heat – three miles into town, and three miles back.

It was only six miles. Not that hard, right?

Wrong! On the way back, we had stop every five hundred yards so I could rest.

Fortunately, I didn’t pass out. At least not on that occasion.

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 thoughts on “Cancer Lesson #54: Each Treatment Affects You Differently.

  1. Hi Kym:
    Thanks for your post. It just dawned on me that treating cancer is half the story, given how many side effects can arise with the treatment itself. Even if you are making progress against the disease, there are these unexpected side-lining consequences that sap your energy along the way. This was an very insightful post.

    Carmen

    Like

    • Carmen,
      Thanks for stopping by and for commenting. I was very lucky to not have too many bad side effects, though I did have a few, and they always seemed to take me by surprise. (Guess I’m a little slow about some things.) There are side effects to everything we do to our bodies, some of them long-lasting and others we won’t even know about until sometime in the future. However, since my chemo was designed to prevent my cancer from returning, I was (and remain) okay with those risks. Thanks again.
      Kym

      Like

  2. Ah yes, the fever and chills that landed me in a hospital isolation unit on megadoses of antibiotic, and the exhaustion that had me burst into tears in the supermarket car park because I couldn’t even summon the energy to drive home. My favourite, though, was the numb fingers that made me drop everything. I’d spend 10 laborious minutes making myself something to eat that I could taste and wouldn’t make me want to barf, and then i’d drop it on the floor… It’s not quite so much fun dealing with the side effects when you’re single and live alone.

    Like

  3. Hi Kym! My name is Cameron Von St. James and I had a quick question for you & was wondering if you could please email me when you have a free moment. Thanks! I really hope to hear from you soon and appreciate you taking the time. ☺ cvonstjames AT gmail DOT com

    Like

Leave a Reply

